CLTA/Stan Heath Achievement in Literacy Award

The CLTA/Stan Heath Achievement in Literacy Award is presented annually to a public library board that has initiated an innovative program that is contributing significantly to the advancement of literacy in its community.

The Canadian Library Trustees' Association (CLTA), a Division of the Canadian Library Association (CLA) fosters excellence in public library service, and stimulates and supports excellence in public library trusteeship by:

>promoting and supporting cooperation and communication among library trustee associations and other library-related organizations within and outside Canada

rencouraging public library trustees to participate in association activities and address national issues

>representing the interests of public library trustees to government and the public

>developing and coordinating training and education programs

>providing forums for meaningful discussion and exchange of ideas for public library trustees

Criteria

- Any public library board in Canada is eligible for the award.
- Members or employees of the public library board are eligible to nominate their own board.
- Each nomination must be sponsored by at least two individuals.
- Nominations must be submitted on an <u>official nomination form</u>, available here in pdf format, from the CLA Office, or any member of the CLTA executive, and accompanied by required documentation.
- The award will be presented at the time of the annual Canadian Library Association Conference.
- If, in any year, no appropriate recipient is identified by the CLTA Achievement in Literacy Award Committee, no award will be made.

Past Winners:

2010 - Regina Public Library Board & Lethbridge Public Library Board

2009 - Windsor Public Library (ON)

2008 - Ottawa Public Library (ON)

2007 - Not Awarded

- 2006 Stratford, West Perth and Perth East Public Libraries (ON)
- 2005 Toronto Public Library (ON)
- 2004 Not Awarded
- 2003 Houston Public Library (BC)
- 2002 Winnipeg Public Library (MB)
- 2001 Pictou-Antigonish Regional Library Board (NS)
- 2000 Calgary Public Library (AB)
- 1999 High River Public Library (AB)
- 1998 Toronto Public Library (ON)
- 1997 North York Public Library (ON)
- 1996 Not Awarded
- 1995 North York Public Library (ON)
- 1994 Fraser Valley Regional Board (BC)
- 1993 London Public Library Board (ON)
- 1992 Hamilton Public Library Board (ON)
- 1991 St. John Regional Board (NB)
- 1990 Thunder Bay Library Board (ON)
- 1989 Regina Public Library Board (SK)
- 1988 LincolnPublic Library Board (ON)
- 1987 Lethbridge Public Library Board (AB)