Sponsored by the Ex Libris Association & CLA

This award is given in honour of William Kaye Lamb, the first National Librarian of Canada, Dominion Archivist and eminent historian (1904 – 1999).


This award recognizes a library that has developed an ongoing service, programme or procedure of benefit to seniors and/or a design and organization of buildings or facilities that improve access and encourage use by seniors. The award will be presented biennially when merited.


Any Canadian public, academic or special library is eligible for this award.


This award is presented biennially (every two years) when merited. Nomination Form (.pdf format)


A representative of Ex Libris and CLA will present a suitably mounted framed certificate and a monetary award of $500 at the awards ceremony of the Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques.

The Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques acknowledges with thanks the generous support of the Ex Libris Association in sponsorship of this award.


Please provide:

  1. Name of the library.
  2. A statement of the service or facility of benefit to the senior population served by the library.
  3. Descriptive material such as photographs, promotional or advertising materials used, articles or news items published may be included with the application to indicate the ongoing success of the project.
  4. The application might include architectural drawings, details of the equipment used and an outline of the effect on staffing and budget.
  5. The name of a contact person, telephone number, fax, e-mail, etc.


A representative of the ELA and CLA/ACB will review the submissions and make a recommendation to the executives of both organizations for approval. The winner will be announced via the CLA Digest and ELAN.

Nominations should be forwarded to:

Canadian Library Association
c/o W. Kaye Lamb Award Jury
1150 Morrison Drive
Suite 400
Ottawa, ON K2H 8S9
Email: info (at) cla.ca

View a list of Past Winners