This award recognizes an author of an outstanding English language Canadian book which appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18. To be eligible for consideration, the following must apply: it must be a work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories, or graphic novel) published in 2015, the title must be a Canadian publication in either hardcover or paperback, and the author must be a Canadian citizen or Permanent Resident. The award is given annually, when merited, at the Canadian Library Association’s annual conference. The winner will receive a plaque and a cheque for $1000. The award was established in in 1980 by the Young Adult Caucus of the Saskatchewan Library Association.

Five copies of each eligible title should be submitted to the committee. Nominations should be sent by November 30, annually to:

Carmelita Cechetto-Shea, Chair
Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board

2016 Shortlist Press Release

2016 Young Adult Book of the Year Award Winner

2015-16 Young Adult Book Award Jury

Name Location
Carmelita Cechetto-Shea (Chair) Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board
Elizabeth Coates Kingston Frontenac Public Library
Anne Foster Saskatoon Public Library
Allison Hall-Murphy Ottawa Public Library
Natalie Schembri Vancouver

View Past Winners