The Canadian Library Association offers many different awards that honour CLA members and others who support the Canadian library community. From technology to leadership, CLA presents a wide variety of awards that acknowledge the tremendous efforts of library workers across the country.


Learn more about the awards offered by the Canadian Library Association:

Support of Core Principles:

CLA Outstanding Service to Librarianship Award
CLA/OCLC Award for Innovative Technology
CLA/Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship
CLA Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada Award

CLA Book Awards:

Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon Illustrator’s Award
Young Adult Book Award
Book of the Year for Children Award

Recognition of Members:

CLA/Alan MacDonald Mentorship Award
CLA Emerging Leader Award
W. Kaye Lamb Award for Service to Seniors

Recognition of Research:

CLA Robert H. Blackburn Distinguished Paper Award
CLA Student Article Award
Angela Thacker Memorial Award

Canadian Library Association (CLA)
Best Poster Presentation Award (discontinued as of 2016)

Former CLA Awards Discontinued as of 2012:

Canadian Association for School Libraries (CASL)
Margaret B. Scott Award of Merit
The Follett International Teacher Librarian of the Year Award

Canadian Association of College and University Libraries (CACUL)
Miles Blackwell Award for Outstanding Academic Librarian
CACUL Innovation Achievement Award
CACUL New Academic Librarian of the Year Award
CTCL Outstanding College Librarian Award
CTCL Innovation Achievement Award

Canadian Association of Public Libraries (CAPL)
CAPL/Brodart Outstanding Public Library Service Award

Canadian Association of Special Libraries and Information Services (CASLIS)
CASLIS Award for Special Librarianship in Canada

Canadian Library Trustees’ Association (CLTA)
CLTA/Stan Heath Achievement in Literacy Award
CLTA Merit Award for Distinguished Service as a Public Library Trustee

Former CLA Interest Groups
CLA/3M Canada Award for Achievement in Technical Services
CLA/Library Technicians Interest Group Award of Merit
CLA/YBP Award for Outstanding Contribution to Collection Development and Management
Olga B. Bishop Award